Sûreté du Québec


The Sûreté du Québec is responsible for providing policing in all regions of the province of Quebec. Each district has its own headquarters, a number of MRCs, satellite police stations as well as highway police stations. A district includes a number of MRC stations, based on the specific territory. The province of Quebec is divided into 10 districts. The Sûreté's mission is to maintain peace and public order and to prevent and repress crime.

Associated Inventory

SQ Regional Operations and Dispatch
Québec Emergency Vehicles

Operational Concepts

AreaRole and Responsibility
Archived Data SystemsSharing data with other agencies in Canada (e.g. MTQ/SAAQ) and along the border.
Operators of commercial vehicle licensing and inspection provide data on licensing status, inspection reports, accident reports, etc. to the federal data archive systems.
Emergency ManagementCoordinate resource sharing with emergency management agencies during disaster response, recovery and evacuation situations.
Dispatch Police, Fire, and EMS to incidents within the municipalities.
Receive emergency calls for incidents (for those municipalities with 9-1-1 centres).
Implement disaster response and emergency evacuation plans.
Work with Emergency Management Agencies to develop disaster response and emergency evacuation plans for large scale emergencies.
Coordinate with Emergency Management agencies on emergency alerts to be distributed to the public.
Coordinate response to incidents near the border with Customs and Border Protection.